Posted by: Corinne | December 3, 2009

Phoebe Bag

I often get discouraged when I sew because I choose massive projects that take forever to complete and it feels like I never get anything done. So I’m trying to make small things once in a while – it’s nice to be able to start and finish a project all in the same day.

This is a purse that I made last week. It’s called the Phoebe Bag by Rebeka Lambert. It was a little more challenging than I thought it would be, but I think that’s mostly because I’m out of practice sewing anything but straight lines. I’m kind of surprised how much I like it. The fabric is Fresh Cut by Heather Bailey and I think that fabric choice makes all of the difference in home sewn purses. I believe this will be the first of many.

Responses

  1. What a beautiful bag! And I completely agree with you about how satisfying it is to be able to start and finish a project in the same day. Keep up the good work with your blog!

  2. I love this bag! It’s so cute! I’ve often wanted to try my hand at making bags, but haven’t worked up the courage yet.

    • I recommend starting a little less ambitious – I had some trouble with this one, but it looks good if you don’t look too closely =)

      I’ve done totebags before – they are a good intro to bag making skills, esp the reversible, lined ones. there are about a million tutorials online for them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

