Posted by: Corinne | January 13, 2010

I’m Joining a Quilt Along!

I am unable to not not start new projects. Sure, I need to work on basting my January quilt-of-the-month (the backing is pieced at least), but I just love the inspiration quilt for Oh Fransson’s Paintbox Quiltalong.

Isn’t that just the funnest quilt you have ever set your eyes upon?

Nevermind the fact that my quilt won’t look like that in the least – I want to make one anyway!

Why won’t my quilt look like that? Well, I made a silly promise to my husband that I wouldn’t buy fabric for SIX  MONTHS! Apparently he finds it a little ridiculous to continually buy more fabric than you use. (One caveat to this is that I can buy material needed to finish projects already in the works – NOT for new projects) I don’t think that he believes I will hold out that long, so I’m trying to prove a point here. I’m not addicted to buying pretty fabric, I just really really like it. So, as much as I would like to buy many bright colors of solids and wonderful prints to make a similar version of the paintbox quilt, I, alas, will not. I am joining this quilt-along working entirely from my stash. I’ll be making the “classic” variation of the blocks, using Kona Bone color as my solid (because that is what I have in my stash). The pace for the quilt-along is 4 sets of blocks a week. Week one:

I think I’m going to really like the scrappy nature of the quilt – 40 different prints – and it gives me a chance to use some old fabrics in my stash that I’m not crazy about, with such a limited amount of a fabric in the quilt it’s more about color and value than design of the individual fabrics. Well, I’d love to have both really, but you can still make a good-looking quilt without high priced fabric.

Leave a Reply

Categories

